Query to the Lab

[ For the thrilling conclusion to this tale, and the solution to all the problems, see this post. Listen to that post and not to all the mistakes I made before it! ]

I’ve just raised the issue about proving I need an ITIN with Linden Lab on the support case they opened when they requested my details in the first place.

Since they have not replied to any of my previous queries yet I am going to keep posting each additional question I ask them on this blog and I will keep you all updated if they ever deign to reply.

My question reads:

Hello? Will anyone respond to my queries?

On further research I have learned that in order to obtain an ITIN I must have evidence that I need one to present to the IRS. Acceptable evidence would be an official letter from Linden Lab stating that an ITIN is required to make distributions to me during the current tax year (as in Exception 1(d) listed in the form W-7 notes http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/iw7.pdf).

Is there any chance that Linden Lab would issue such a letter for me? I would be happy to cover administrative costs.

I cannot be the only person in this position – there must be hundreds, if not thousands, of people who run businesses in Second Life who will be affected by this. Are you going to turn your back on every non-US user of the platform?

Leave a Reply

