Dominatrix Formal – Progress 02

Getting to a point where it’s worth updating you all with this project has taken a bit longer than I’d hoped. This is partially because it’s a complex build and partially because I’m lazy.

No small part of the delay is down to my somewhat foolish decision to include a corset in the design – seriously, who has the time to fiddle all those laces into position? After I did the seemingly endless laces up the front of the knee-length pony boots I swore that ever after everything I made was going to use zips.

It’s like the evolution of fastener technology in a microcosm, only driven by my lazy desire not to have to fiddle six thousand vertices into position rather than genuine technological development.

I’m not entirely happy with the end result of the laces – too many vertices and polys, but much has been learned and next time it’ll be better. I also got into a deep diversion to do with knot theory when I was making the knot in the laces and was, in fact, fifteen hundred lines of code into a program that would output smooth 3D geometry for parametric knots when I realised I’d gone so far off the deep end that I was looking up at the colossal squid. I’d also been using the word “knot” so much that it had lost all meaning.

In the end I just bashed together a few polys that look enough like a knot that it would satisfy and got on with building the rest of the mesh. One day I’ll disappear into some mathematical tangent and only surface when I’m old, grey, and in possession of a proof of the Poincaré conjecture.

I’ve spent quite a lot of time in Illustrator making the bump maps for the various parts of the outfit and a load more time watching progress bars while I render out all the texture layers. I’m expanding the texture range a little this time and trying out a satin effect – I’m still fiddling with the details but I think it’s looking pretty good now.

DominatrixFormal2

 

This picture shows the current state-of-play. Rendered textures applied to the low-poly model; satin for the shirt and tie, leather for the corset and skirt. Excuse the rather loud colour for the shirt; I needed something that contrasted.

So, where does it go from here? There’s still some more work to do on the texture layers and then they’ll go into production. It’s looking like I’ll be producing and uploading nearly three hundred separate textures for this model(!) so once more I’ll be thanking God for the bulk upload feature. Then there’s the production of the normal and specular maps for the ALM support.

The low poly mesh is going to go back into Lightwave for some more vertex-bashing to produce the standard sizes and then those are going into Blender for rigging.

Still lots to do but progress is being made. Stay tuned 🙂

5 thoughts on “Dominatrix Formal – Progress 02

  1. I’ve got good news and bad news for you, Kat. The bad news: the Poincaré Conjecture was proved about ten years ago by Grigori Perelman. The good news: Mathematica and KnotPlot generate knots which can be exported as .obj files.

  2. Looking delicious, like all of your kcreations (ba doum tschhh). Strutting around in the Carmen Mistress Dress as we speak, with my hobble AO (if I could only find a decent hobble AO somewhere…)

    A note on the Dom Formal – the combination of a skirt, corset and a shirt with a tie is absolutely spot on, especially if you could make the corset part reaaaallllly severe – what’s the point of wearing a corset if you don’t go for an hourglass figure eh? 🙂

    The big news few years ago was that Perelman withdrew from mathematics – maybe his eyebrows finally grew together and his brain was short-sircuited?

    • Glad you like the dress 🙂

      The original model that you see above is built to just fit the avatar. As I’m making the various different sizes I’m working in a more severe wasp waist, so I hope you’ll find it tight enough when it arrives 😉

Leave a Reply

