Avatar T-Shirt Template

For a while now I’ve been playing around more and more with cloth simulation to make mesh clothing. It’s a powerful tool for creating a natural looking drape for fabric around an avatar’s body but to get the best results it’s hard to keep the poly count down.

The last couple of days I’ve been messing around with creating cloth-simmed meshes and then baking their textures down onto the avatar’s mesh to produce an “old fashioned” piece of SL clothing that still takes some advantage of the cloth simulation.

The piece of clothing I’ve been working with was a simple T-Shirt and now that I’ve got something that seems pleasing I’m going to share all the textures with you – because I’m just that generous 😉

TShirt Template Example

I’m releasing these files under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 license. This means that you’re free to:

  • Copy, distribute, display and perform the work
  • To make derivative works
  • To make commercial use of the work

So long as you give me credit, go nuts 🙂

For now I’ll just include the template files – I may give a more technical breakdown of how I made them in a later post.

There are four templates here:

  • Diffuse – this contains shadows and shading
  • Ambient Occlusion – this contains more shading information, different to the diffuse layer
  • Cloth – this is an unshaded cotton-like cloth layer to give the shirt some texture
  • Alpha – a black & white alpha map that defines the edges of the texture
Cloth template

Cloth template

Diffuse template

Diffuse template

Ambient Occlusion template

Ambient Occlusion template

Alpha template

Alpha template

I’m providing all these textures in 1024 x 1024 resolution, bigger than the 512 x 512 allowed for SL’s clothing layer textures, but I find it’s always better to have a big texture you can scale down than a small one you have to scale up.

These templates are designed to be blended together in a graphics editor like Photoshop. The way I work with these is to start with a square image filled with a plain base colour. Add the template layers on top of this background and set them to the Multiply blend mode. Play with the opacity sliders for a bit until the effects of each layer seem to add up nicely (I have no scientific method for this, just my eyeballs) then save out a merged image and apply the alpha map to it as a mask:

Example of merging template layers

Example of merging template layers

Scale the resulting texture down to 512 x 512 pixels, upload it to Second Life and Bob’s your uncle 🙂

One thought on “Avatar T-Shirt Template

Leave a Reply

